Workshops and Tutorials

REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS

Please note that all workshop participants and speakers are required to register and are charged a registration fee (see here). Only workshop organizers are exempt from any registration fee.

Deadlines for registration are as follows:
** April 15th, 2021 April 22nd, 2021 April 29th, 2021: Early registration due **
** April 16th, 2021 April 23rd, 2021 April 30th, 2021: Late registration opens **

Questions can be directed to the Workshop Chairs,  Professor Carla Seatzu (seatzu@diee.unica.it) and Professor Federica Pascucci (federica.pascucci@uniroma3.it).

LINK TO THE TECHNICAL PROGRAM

WORKSHOPS

Complimentary workshops are available for students, more information here!!!

W1: Modeling and Control Tools for Sustainable and Connected Mobility in Smart Cities – from 2.00 pm to 6.20 pm.

Organizers
S. Siri, Associate Professor of Automatic Control
Department of Informatics, Bioengineering, Robotics and Systems Engineering
University of Genova, Italy
E-mail: silvia.siri@unige.it
A. Malikopoulos, Terri Connor Kelly and John Kelly Career Development Associate Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Delaware, Italy
E-mail: andreas@udel.edu

This workshop is organized within the Technical Committee of the IEEE Control Systems Society on “Smart Cities”. http://smart-cities.ieeecss.org/

W1 Session Program

W1 webpage

W2: Control, Robotics, Sensing and Artificial Intelligence for Precision Agriculture – from 1.00 pm to 5.20 pm

Organizers
Andrea Gasparri, Associate Professor
Roma Tre University, Italy
E-mail: gasparri@inf.uniroma3.it
Daniele Nardi, Full Professor
Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: nardi@dis.uniroma1.it
Martina Lippi, Postdoctoral Researcher
Roma Tre University, Italy
E-mail: martina.lippi@uniroma3.it

W2 session program

– W3: Management and socio-economic impacts of sustainable mobility in smart cities – from 2.00 pm and 6.20 pm

Organizers
Elisabetta Venezia, Researcher/Senior lecturer
Department of Economics and Finance, University of Bari, Italy
E-mail: elisabetta.venezia@uniba.it

W3 Session Program

– W4: Research and innovation development in the gender equality perspective – from 2.00 pm and 6.20 pm

Organizers
Concettina Marino, Researcher (Environmental Physics)
Department of Civil, Energy, Environmental and Material Engineering (DICEAM)
Mediterranean University of Reggio Calabria, Italy
E-mail: concettina.marino@unirc.it
Patrizia Frontera, Researcher (Materials science and technology)
Department of Civil, Energy, Environmental and Material Engineering (DICEAM)
Mediterranean University of Reggio Calabria, Italy
E-mail: patrizia.frontera@unirc.it
Mariantonia Cotronei, Researcher (Numerical analysis)
Department of Information Engineering, Infrastructure and Sustainable Energy (DIIES)
Mediterranean University of Reggio Calabria
E-mail: mariantonia.cotronei@unirc.it

W4 Session Program

– W5: Toward Industry 5.0: Sustainable and Regenerative Economy with Focus on Smart Small Towns – from 9.00 am to 1.20 pm

Organizers
Paolo Dario, Professor
Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Italy
E-mail: paolo.dario@santannapisa.it
Barbara Bonciani, PhD
Livorno Municipality, Italy Member of the Scientific Committee of RETE (Association for the Collaboration of Ports and Cities) Associate Researcher, CNR-IRCrES (National Research Council of Italy, Institute for Research on Sustainable Economic Growth)
E-mail: b.bonciani@comune.livorno.it
Rossella Raso, PhD
Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Italy
E-mail: rossella.raso@santannapisa.it

W5 Session Program

– W6: Modelling, control and optimization of flexible devices for a sustainable and efficient future power grid – from 9.00 am to 1.20 pm

Organizers
Alessandra Parisio, Associate Professor,
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, School of Engineering,
the University of Manchester, United Kingdom
E-mail: alessandra.parisio@manchester.ac.uk
Jovica V. Milanovic, Full Professor,
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, School of Engineering,
the University of Manchester, United Kingdom
E-mail: jovica.milanovic@manchester.ac.uk

W6 Session Program

TUTORIALS

– T1 (for free): A user’s guide to Girls in Control – Tutorial for colleagues, instructors and teachers on how to prepare, organize and run a GIC workshop – from 11.00 am to 1.20 pm

Organizers
Steffi Knorn, Professor
Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany
E-mail: Steffi.knorn@ovgu.de
Roxanne Jackson, PhD student
Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany
E-mail: Roxanne.jackson@ovgu.de
Damiano Varagnolo, Professor
Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway
E-mail: damiano.varagnolo@ntnu.no

T1 Session Program

PARTICIPATION MODE

We inform you that all presentations will be held synchronously in parallel Zoom rooms managed by specialized technicians, with chairs, speakers, and attendees connected together at the same time and speakers sharing their screen with presentations.

Note that all workshops and tutorials will be held at CEST (Central European Summer Time), between 9.00 am and 1.20 pm, or 1.00 pm and 5.20 pm, or 2.00 pm and 6.20 pm, (half day workshops).

DISCLAIMER

Please also note that all workshops will be offered based on viable attendance.
The MED2021 organization committee reserves the right to cancel non-viable workshops.
In the event of a cancellation, the workshop fees will be refunded in full.